GUIDES & RESOURCES
Elections
A quick guide containing links to selected websites, books, movies, magazines, online databases and other resources to help you find what you are looking for.
You may also be interested in these Info Guides:
Websites
- League of Women Voters of Indianapolis
- A nonpartisan organization devoted to voter education and advocacy, the League also addresses public issues of interest to the residents of Marion County.
- Politics--Indiana
- Provides a list of state offices and candidates, including U.S. Senators and U.S. Representatives, along with links to available web sites of candidates, incumbents, and state political parties. For national information, go to Politics http://www.politics1.com/.
- Meetup - Indianapolis
- Meetup is a "a free service that organizes local gatherings about anything, anywhere," and is a way to find out about political gatherings, as well as gatherings of other groups of people with common interests.
- Indiana Campaign Finance Database
- Search for campaign financial reports submitted by state candidates, parties, committees, and political action committees to the Indiana Secretary of State.
- Cook Political Report
- This non-partisan look at election politics includes polling results and analysis.
- Democracy Net
- Presented by the League of Women Voters, users can find brief biographies of state and national candidates and issue statements from several presidential candidates.
- FactCheck
- A nonpartisan monitor of "the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews, and news releases." It is run by the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania.
- Living Room Candidate
- Presented by the American Museum of the Moving Image, this site lets you view presidential campaign commericals from 1952 to the current election. The commercials are indexed by the year and by the type of commercial.
- Polling Report
- This nonpartisan site presents polling data from various sources including Gallup and CNN, showing public opinion on candidates, the election, and other issues.
- Project Vote Smart
- A non-partisan source of information and analysis of candidates, election issues, and ballot measures nationwide. Includes biographical information about office holders and candidates, from U.S. President to Indiana State legislator.
- Public Agenda
- This nonpartisan organization presents issue guides on a variety of topics that help users understand the topic by providing overviews, public opinion research, and links to other resources.
- Elections
- A comprehensive and exhaustive gateway to information about the elections process, voter registration, and historical information.
- Elections and Voting
- The Vanderbilt University Library's compilation of sites from the general to the academic, including directories, metasites, government agencies, and polls.
- United States Elections 2004
- Articles, timelines, and glossaries give readers an introduction to the procedures and origins of the 2004 federal elections, including information about political parties, polls, and campaign finance. This site is from the U.S. Department of State, and is aimed at a worldwide audience.
- US Census Bureau's Facts for Features--The 2004 Presidential Election
- Statistics from the US Census Bureau about elections, voter registration, and voter turnout from previous elections.
- Federal Election Commission Financial Reports
- Find financial disclosure reports from congressional and presidential campaigns, including political parties and political action committees.
- Follow the Money
- A nonpartisan site devoted to the research of money in state politics that includes a database of candidates and contributors for elections in all 50 states.
- Opensecrets
- Sponsored by the non-partisan Center for Responsive Politics, this site provides a guide to campaign donations and the role of money in federal elections.
- Center for Voting and Democracy
- A non-partisan organization that "studies how voting systems affect participation, representation and governance."
- National Commission on Federal Election Reform
- This non-partisan group was organized to study the federal election system and to recommend ways to improve its fairness and accuracy.
Library Materials
|
|
||||
|
|
||||
|
Steal this vote dirty elections and the rotten history of democracy in America by: Gumbel, Andrew 364.1324 GUM |
Routledge historical atlas of presidential elections by: Mieczkowski, Yanek 324.9 MIE |
||||
|
Historical atlas of U S presidential elections 1788 2004 by: 324.973 HIS |
Indiana legislative insight by: PERIODICAL |
||||
|
War room by: DVD 324.9730928 WAR |
Online Databases
Organization Links
- Marion County Election Board
- City-County Building
200 E. Washington Street, Suite W122
Indianapolis, IN 46204
317-327-5100 - Indiana Election Division
- 302 W. Washington Street
Room E-204
Indianapolis, IN 46204
317-232-3939 - Federal Election Commission
- 999 E Street, NW
Washington, DC 20463
800-424-9530







