GUIDES & RESOURCES

iLibrary Homework Help

Law

A quick guide containing links to selected websites, books, movies, magazines, online databases and other resources to help you find what you are looking for.

Websites

Indiana Supreme Court Self-Service Legal Center
Includes online forms users can fill out and print for divorce, child support and name change in Indiana. This site is part of Indiana Courts, which also archives Judicial Opinions at: http://www.state.in.us/judiciary/opinions/archive.html.
Indiana Court Forms
Forms used in Indiana Courts. Includes appeals forms, Petition for Post-Conviction Relief, protection order petitions and more.
Indiana Legal Services
Information about divorce, child custody, child support, being fired, evictions, immigration, debt collection, bankruptcy and much more.
Pay Parking Tickets in Marion County
Find where and how to pay a parking ticket issued in Indianapolis.
Pay Traffic Tickets in Marion County
Pay fines online.
Legal Information Gateway
FindLaw
Comprehensive legal site with features of interest to legal professionals, students, and the general public. Find out about criminal laws, request forms (payment required), find a lawyer, and locate federal and state resources.
Nolo's Self-Help Law Center
Nolo, a commercial site and a leading publisher of self-help legal materials, offers this site that enables you to read about topics in their legal encyclopedia or legal dictionary, find sample forms and even "Ask Auntie Nolo" a question.
Indiana Code
Current laws of Indiana.
Indiana Administrative Code
Current regulations for Indiana.
Indianapolis/Marion County Municipal Code
Ordinances for Marion County.
Code of Federal Regulations Online
"The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government."
U.S. Code Online
Search the U.S. Code which is "a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States."
U.S. Supreme Court Decisions
Decisions searchable by date, party name and topics from 1990 to the present. Provides links to data bases with earlier Supreme Court decisions.
Indiana Attorney General
Includes victim assistance, consumer protection, and the sex offender registry.
Indiana Judicial System
Information about the Indiana Court of Appeals, Indiana Supreme Court, Indiana Tax Court and links to other relevant Indiana court information.
Marion County Circuit and Superior Courts
Mission statement of the Courts, Child Support Calculator, information on selected current cases and recent press releases, Visitation Guidelines and Parenting Time Guidelines [http://www.indy.gov/egov/courts/Pages/home.aspx].
Office of the Marion County Clerk Civil Filing Division
Look under Links for information on filing fees and frequently requested forms.
United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit
The Seventh Circuit covers the states of Illinois, Indiana and Wisconsin. Indianapolis is served by the southern district of the Seventh Circuit [http://www.insd.uscourts.gov/].

Library Materials

He had it coming how to outsmart your husband and win your divorce
by: Schneider, Stacy
346.0166 SCH
101 biggest estate planning mistakes
by: Nass, Herbert E.
346.052 NAS
American landlord law everything U need to know about landlord tenant laws
by: Rhodes, Trevor
346.0434 RHO
complete idiots guide to the criminal justice system
by: Sax, Robin
364 SAX

Organization Links

Indiana Justice Center

Market Square Center, Suite 1800, 151 N. Delaware Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204, Toll Free (800) 869-0212 or direct (317) 631-9775

The Indiana Justice Center provides support to legal service programs throughout the state that receive funds from the Legal Services Corporation. These programs provide free legal assistance to Indiana's low income residents. Informational pamphlets on topics such as consumer issues, family issues, mediation and immigration can be downloaded from this site.
Indiana Supreme Court Library

Room 316 State House, Indianapolis IN 46204, (317) 232-2557

Hours 8:30-4:30 M-F. Serves Indiana Supreme Court staff, members of the bar, and anyone who has business with the Supreme Court. Has state laws for Indiana and other states. Limited phone assistance and limited in-person assistance provided.
Federal Courts Library
46 E. Ohio Street, Indianapolis IN 46204, (317) 229-3935
Hours 8:30-4:30 M-F. Serves Federal Court staff, members of the bar, and anyone who has business in the federal courts. Has the United States Code and state laws for the Seventh District (Illinois, Indiana, Wisconsin) and the states surrounding the Seventh District. Limited phone assistance provided.
Ruth Lilly Law Library, IU School of Law Indianapolis
530 W. New York Street, Indianapolis IN 46204, (317) 274-4026
Hours [http://indylaw.indiana.edu/library/hours.htm] vary with the academic year schedule. Phone to verify current hours. Materials are available to the general public for use in the library only.
City of Indianapolis Office of Equal Opportunity
200 East Washington Street City-County Building Suite 1601 Indianapolis, IN 46204 (317) 327-4055
 Investigates claims of discrimination within Marion County.
Indiana General Assembly
Indiana House of Representatives, 200 W. Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204-2786, (317) 232-9600, (800) 382-9842
The information you need to participate in the democratic process and participate in state government (you can listen to the general assembly sessions) and a section: Law and Administrative Rules (http://www.in.gov/legislative/ic_iac/) that link to the Indiana Constitution, Indiana Code and Indiana Administrative Code and Official Opinions of the Attorney General (http://www.state.in.us/attorneygeneral/advisory/opinions/).
American Civil Liberties Union of Indiana
Provides legal assistance to Indiana residents whose constitutional rights have been violated. This website provides an overview of pending litigation, activities, calendar, publications and information on current legislation.
Directory of Registered Mediators
National City Center #1065, 115 West Washington St., Indianapolis, IN 46204-3417, (317) 233-2581
The mediators listed here have successfully completed the application process of the Indiana Commission for Continuing Legal Education prescribed by Indiana's alternate Dispute Resolution Rule 2.3. There are services for Low Income Citizens.
Indiana Association of Mediators
49 Boone Village, Zionsville IN 46077, (317) 571-0260, Toll Free (800) 571-0260 
Provides referrals to professional family mediators to resolve custody and property issues for divorcing couples. Makes referrals to civil mediators who use dispute resolution as an alternative to litigation.
Indiana Pro Bono Commission
If you are unable to pay for a lawyer you can get connected with one by contacting one of the programs linked here. This is for civil matters only.
Legal Aid Society of Indianapolis

 615 N. Alabama Steet, Room 122 Indianapolis IN 46204, (317) 635-9538

Provides legal assistance in civil cases to low income residents of Marion County and surrounding counties.

Related Catalog Searches