GUIDES & RESOURCES
Politics
A quick guide containing links to selected websites, books, movies, magazines, online databases and other resources to help you find what you are looking for.
You may also be interested in these Info Guides:
Websites
- Thomas: Legislative Information on the Internet
- Search current and past bills, view the latest legislative and committee actions, and link to issues of Congressional Record.
- Congressional Record
- A word-for-word account of the proceedings and debates of both houses of Congress.
- Government Documents in the News
- Link to documents, including court cases and legislative bills, which have made the headlines in state, national, and international news.
- National Security Archives
- View a wide variety of declassified government documents, including reports from the Iran Hostage crisis and Operation Desert Storm, and find out how to use the Freedom of Information Act to review other declassified material.
- Department of Homeland Security
- Explains current terrorist threat levels, provides the latest news releases, and includes a copy of the National Strategy for Homeland Security (http://www.whitehouse.gov/homeland/book/index.html)
- National Conference of State Legislatures
- View what issues state legislators are studying, and link to state legislature and legislators' sites.
- National Association of Attorneys General
- Includes biographical sketches of each state's Attorney General, links to their official sites, and issues concerning consumer fraud and the tobacco settlement.
- Stateline.org
- Written by journalists, this site provides current news, statistical data, links to official state government pages, and discussion of issues concerning state governments
- Politics1
- Nonpartisan and easy to use, this site provides information and access to resources on parties, candidates, ideology, issues, and news. It also offers articles about political history, debates, and political memorabilia. A useful site for students.
- SpeakOut.com
- A nonpartisan site that discusses dozens of public policy issues, including education, technology, and security.
- C-Span
- The public service cable network's online resource for public affairs and politics.
- Opensecrets
- This nonpartisan nonprofit organization observes Congress and the role money plays in elections and legislative business.
- Department of Defense
- The gateway of the U.S. Department of Defense, with links to news and reports, and links to the official sites of the Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, and Coast Guard.
Library Materials
|
|
||||
|
|
||||
|
Encyclopedia of presidential campaigns slogans issues and platforms by: Roberts, Robert North 324.973 R6469e |
Mudslingers the top 25 negative political campaigns of all time countdown from no 25 to no 1 by: Swint, Kerwin C. 324.7 SWI |
||||
|
Magruders American government by: 353 MAG |
Miracle at Philadelphia story of the Constitutional Convention May to September 1787 by: Bowen, Catherine Drinker, 1897-1973. 342.73 |
||||
|
Almanac of American politics by: 320.973 ALM |
CQ weekly by: PERIODICAL |
Online Databases
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
- Is there anywhere online that I can find documents about the founding of the United States?
- At Charters of Freedom, you can read the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, the Bill of Rights, and the Magna Carta, and view detailed photographs of the documents.
- Where can I find out about politics around the world?
- Political Resources on the Net links to a very large number of political sites from around the world, including political parties, media, and government. Also check out the Political Site of the Week.









